Nominations For The 2015 CMA Awards Have Been Announced

Photo by Amy Harris / Rex Features

Photo by Amy Harris / Rex Features

Forget the VMAs! Most awards shows have nothing on the events put on for country music and the 49th annual Country Music Association Awards look better than ever.

Nashville’s biggest stars were woken up this morning to news of the nominations and leading this year’s pack is Eric Church and country group Little Big Town, each raking in five nominations. Other fan favorites like Kenny Chesney and Miranda Lambert are not far behind with four nominations while a few newcomers, Sam Hunt, Maddie & Tae, Kacey Musgraves and Chris Stapleton, each have three nods. The CMA Awards will once again hosted by longtime co-hosts Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood with Underwood scoring two nominations of her own.

Competition looks tough for reigning Entertainer of the Year Luke Bryan who is going against Garth Brooks, Kenny Chesney, Eric Church and the only female nominated in the category, Miranda Lambert. Watch for all of your country music favorites when the CMA Awards air live from Nashville on Wednesday, Nov. 4. on ABC.

Check out the full list of nominations below:

Entertainer of the Year
Garth Brooks
Luke Bryan
Kenny Chesney
Eric Church
Miranda Lambert

Male Vocalist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Blake Shelton
Chris Stapleton

Female Vocalist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood
Lee Ann Womack

Album of the Year
Jason Aldean – Old Boots, New Dirt
Kacey Musgraves – Pageant Material
Little Big Town – Pain Killer
Kenny Chesney – The Big Revival
Chris Stapleton – Traveller

New Artist of the Year

Kelsea Ballerini
Sam Hunt
Maddie & Tae
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton

Vocal Duo of the Year

Brothers Osborne
Dan And+ Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae
Thompson Square

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Rascal Flatts
The Band Perry
The Zac Brown Band

Single of the Year
“American Kids” – Kenny Chesney (Produced by Buddy Cannon and Kenny Chesney)
“Girl Crush” – Little Big Town (Produced by Jay Joyce)
“I Don’t Dance” – Lee Brice (Produced by Lee Brice)
“Take Your Time” –  Sam Hunt (Produced by Zach Crowell and Shane McAnally)
“Talladega” – Eric Church (Produced by Jay Joyce and Arturo Buenabora, Jr.)

Music Video of the Year (Artist and Director)

“Biscuits” – Kacey Musgraves (Directed by Mark Klasfeld)
“Girl Crush” – Little Big Town (Directed by Karla Welch and Matthew Welch)
“Girl In A Country Song” – Maddie & Tae (Directed by TK McKamy)
“Little Red Wagon” – Miranda Lambert (Directed by Trey Fanjoy)
“Something in the Water” – Carrie Underwood (Directed by Raj Kapoor)

Song of the Year (Songwriter)

“American Kids” – Kenny Chesney (Songwriters: Rodney Clawson, Luke Laird, Shane McAnally)
“Girl Crush” – Little Big Town (Songwriters: Liz Rose, Lori McKenna, Hillary Lindsay)
“Like a Cowboy” –  Randy Houser  (Songwriters: Randy Houser, Bryce Long)
“Like a Wrecking Ball” –  Eric Church (Songwriters: Eric Church, Casey Beathard)
“Take Your Time” – Sam Hunt (Songwriters: Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne)

Musical Event of the Year
Django and Jimmie – Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard
“Lonely Tonight” – Blake Shelton feat. Ashley Monroe
“Raise ‘Em Up” – Keith Urban feat. Eric Church
“Smokin’ and Drinkin'” – Miranda Lambert feat. Little Big Town
“Wild Child” – Kenny Chesney with Grace Potter

Musician of the Year

Sam Bush – Mandolin
Jerry Douglas – Dobro
Paul Franklin -Steel Guitar
Dan Huff – Guitar
Mac McAnally – Guitar

Telisa Carter

Telisa Carter

Telisa enjoys learning and writing about all things entertainment in the world of Hollywood. When she isn't catching up on her favorite TV shows, she likes to read, and obsess over all things football.